Billy’s Bakery

May 28, 2007
Cuisine: Desserts & Bakeries

184 9th Ave, New York 10011
At 21st St

Phone: 212-647-9956
Website: www.billysbakerynyc.com/

Red Velvet Cake – a moist, deep red cake flavored with a hint of cocoa and topped with cream cheese icing ($4.50/slice)

This is sort of embarrassing to admit, but here goes—Jessica Simpson introduced me to Red Velvet Cake. She also introduced me to the importance of keeping marriage and reality television separate, but that’s neither here nor there.

Read about Billy’s Bakery here:

http://gastronomyblog.com/2007/06/12/billys-bakery/

8 Responses to “Billy’s Bakery”


  1. 1 Jon June 12, 2007 at 7:29 pm

    vanilla cake dyed red. i still don’t get the appeal…

    cathy, i desperately want to see the alinea review!

  2. 2 JadedOne June 12, 2007 at 8:12 pm

    I just saw your tastespotting post about this cake. The first thing I thought was Jessica Simpson. I’m a fan of hers even if everything thinks she’s annoying and can’t hold a marriage together. Now I’ve gotta try that cake. It looks amazing!

  3. 3 taylor June 13, 2007 at 12:08 am

    We had these for Thanksgiving, family reunions, and other holidays. I have an aunt that will probably have the image of red velvet cake engraved on her tombstone, she’s so famous for it. The cake part is disappointing if not done right, but that one looks like a winner. You really want a layer cake and not a cupcake, as the real deal gives you more icing.

  4. 4 angel van June 13, 2007 at 12:46 am

    omg i love red velvet either in cake or cupcake form. that one looks so good. i wish i could have a piece of it myself.

  5. 5 e June 13, 2007 at 5:52 am

    In Philly you should try Brown Betty Dessert Boutique in Northern Liberties. They make a red velvet cupcake that is dense and chocolately with a thick layer of cream cheese frosting on top.

  6. 6 Irvina June 13, 2007 at 10:15 am

    I’m with you man, I don’t see the hype in the red and white. If anything it tastes like an American flag that’s missing something…oh yes…the stars of good taste!

  7. 7 Jeanie July 4, 2007 at 10:04 pm

    haha, I think I was introduced to red velvet cake by Torrie Spelling. I was surfing channels and saw her baking red velvet cupcakes for a party. I loved the color. I have yet to try the cake though.

    I think if I do make this I would make it in cupcake form.


  1. 1 Top Posts « WordPress.com Trackback on June 13, 2007 at 3:59 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

