Dau Hu Kho

IMG_3219

 Braised Tofu with Tomatoes and Mushrooms

  • 1 container of firm or extra firm tofu
  • Vegetable oil
  • 1 leek stalk
  • 3 tomatoes
  • 10 button mushrooms
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 5 tablespoons soy sauce
  • Black pepper 

Cut tofu into 2″ x 2″ cubes. Deep fry* tofu cubes in vegetable oil until golden and set aside to drain. 

Cut the tomatoes into bite-sized cubes with seeds. Quarter or halve mushrooms into bite-sized pieces. Slice leeks thinly (white part only). Using some of the oil from the tofu, sauté shallots until browned then add tomatoes and mushrooms and gently combine. Season the vegetables with salt, sugar, and soy sauce. My family likes to use the Golden Mountain soy sauce brand. Cover with lid and let the vegetables sweat for 5 minutes.

Once the tomatoes and mushrooms have softened, add tofu and place lid back on—do not stir. After 3 minutes, incorporate the tofu with the vegetables and bring to a boil. Season with pepper. Let the tofu and vegetables boil for another 20 minutes.

Serve warm with rice.   

*To avoid deep frying, Asian grocery stores often sell tofu that has already been deep fried.

3 Responses to “Dau Hu Kho”


  1. 1 woodworking projects May 27, 2013 at 3:30 am

    Greetings from Florida! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your website on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the info you provide here and can’t wait to
    take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even
    using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, very good site!

  2. 2 garbage disposal troubleshooting August 11, 2013 at 11:50 am

    An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a colleague who has been conducting a little research on this. And he actually bought me lunch simply because I stumbled upon it for him… lol. So let me reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanx for spending some time to discuss this issue here on your blog.

  3. 3 Nakia October 16, 2013 at 10:24 am

    There is certainly a lot to know about this issue. I love
    all the points you have made.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

