Chè Nhãn

It’s gettin’ hot in HCMC.

The dry-season is in full swing and the days of motorbiking in the rain while donning ponchos is now a distant memory.

Click here to read the full post:

http://gastronomyblog.com/2008/01/30/che-nhan/

4 Responses to “Chè Nhãn”


  1. 1 Raine January 31, 2008 at 3:07 am

    Chè isn’t something easily homemade, but Chè Nhãn can be! I remember my dad always making this when I was a kid, I got sick of eating it really quick, and I think my dad has too, because he doesn’t make it anymore!

    My favorites are CHÈ BA MÀU and CHÈ THÁİ.

    Is flan popular over there? I remember my relatives making it a lot when I was a kid and the only logical reason I can think of now is because it reminds them of home.

  2. 2 Neneh January 31, 2008 at 5:57 am

    Very un-Vietnamese like of me, but I don’t really like Che… However, the exception is this one, because it’s so light and refreshing. Can’t wait to get to Vietnam and eat!! One more week!

  3. 3 Gastronomer January 31, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    Raine - che ba mau is a gem! I love the multi-colored layers and the beans (fiber!). I once ordered che thai in Saigon, but the woman told me that it contained durian so I changed my mind. I hope to embrace durian one day.

    Flan is super-popular over here and always served topped with crushed ice. I haven’t had it yet because I’m always eying the che, but will do so soon.

    Neneh - the countdown is ON! Start fasting now, the food here is gonna knock your socks off ;-)

  4. 4 Raine February 1, 2008 at 2:54 am

    Che Thai that my aunt makes doesn’t have durian, but it does have jackfruit. I sometimes get the two confused because they’re both poke-y, but by far I love Jackfruit over durian (:

    If you try flan, do tell if it tastes like the boxed Jell-o kind xD That’s all my family every makes… :b


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

