Gino’s East

June 10, 2007
Cuisine: Pizza

633 N Wells St, Chicago 60610
Btwn W Erie & W Ontario St

Phone: 312-943-1124
Website: www.ginoseast.com

Small Cheese Deep Dish Pizza ($11.95)

A trip to Chicago just wouldn’t be complete without some deep dish pizza—Charlie Trotter’s will have to wait till next time! This was my first visit to the Windy City so I consulted my friend Gash, a Chicago native currently residing in Cairo (!), about where to find the best pie in town. He recommended Gino’s East and Pizzeria Uno. I decided to give Gino’s a try because Uno is a chain and readily available across the USA. In fact, I’ve eaten at an Uno in San Diego.

The original Gino’s East was a cramped hole in the wall with tortuously long waits, but an expansion in 2001 moved the eatery to its current location inside an abandoned Planet Hollywood. In order to retain some of the original Gino’s unique ambiance, every piece of furniture covered in graffiti was moved to Sly, Bruce, and Demi’s old haunt. As much effort as the folks at Gino’s put into hiding the fact that they’re located inside a relic from the 90’s, the faux spotlights out front along with the celebrity hand prints on the walls are a dead give away.

I sat in a cozy booth for two and yearned for a Sharpie pen as I waited for my small cheese pizza to arrive. After a twenty-five minute wait, my pie appeared. The amiable waitress cut me a slice (a quarter of the pizza) and said she expected me to eat at least two slices before I left. I said I would try my best.

The pizza was fresh out of the oven and the cheese and sauce were still bubbling on the surface as I dug in. A fork and knife were essential for the first few bites, which were absolutely scrumptious! Oozing mozzarella cheese, aromatic marinara, and a bread-y crust proved to be a potent combination. I’m not a deep dish expert (yet), but this pie was awesome. The most distinctive quality about Gino’s pizza is its crust. Sturdy, un-greasy, and mild in taste, the crust contrasted splendidly with the abundant sauce and cheese. I was really impressed by how well the crust held the hefty toppings too. I easily ate half the pie and I packed the second half to go. I definitely didn’t disappoint my waitress.

7 Responses to “Gino’s East”


  1. 1 www.thevisionyard.com May 16, 2013 at 4:11 am

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts about drove. Regards

  2. 2 las vegas debt consolidation May 16, 2013 at 4:28 am

    It’s hard to find educated people in this particular subject, but you seem like you know what you’re talking about!
    Thanks

  3. 3 baby showers May 17, 2013 at 7:12 am

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I’ve truly loved browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing on your rss feed and I hope
    you write once more soon!

  4. 4 Branson Oraman December 5, 2013 at 6:49 pm

    I have been absent for a while, but now I remember why I used to love this blog.
    Thanks , I will try and check back more frequently.
    How frequently you update your website?

  5. 5 Salvador Merrill December 5, 2013 at 7:48 pm

    I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your weblog.
    Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility issues?
    A small number of my blog visitors have complained
    about my website not working correctly in Explorer but
    looks great in Opera. Do you have any advice to help
    fix this issue?

  6. 6 Emanuel McCarley December 6, 2013 at 4:02 pm

    I have recently started a blog, the information you offer on this web site
    has helped me greatly. Thanks for all of your time & work.

  7. 7 Adrian Cooper December 16, 2013 at 4:17 pm

    Just about all of the things you mention happens to
    be supprisingly legitimate and that makes me wonder why I hadn’t
    looked at this with this light previously. This particular piece truly
    did turn the light on for me personally as far as this specific
    issue goes. Nevertheless there is actually one particular point I am not necessarily too comfortable
    with and whilst I make an effort to reconcile that with the actual main idea of
    the point, let me see exactly what the rest of the readers
    have to say.Very well done.


Leave a Reply

