EVA Airlines

IMG_5888

Flying back to California on EVA Airlines was a pleasure and the food on board was defintely palatable. The coolest part was that the airline actually took my request for a “high-fiber meal” seriously! Back in September when I booked the flight online, there was a special tab for dietary needs. I scanned the selections and chose high-fiber from the menu thinking that the airline would not likely make special accommodations. I was totally wrong. While everyone on board was munching on refined flours, I was given super-special meals loaded with soluble and insoluble fiber. Neat!

IMG_5890

Lunch: The main course was a flaky white fish topped with tomato sauce served with steamed broccoli, carrots and noodles. Sides included a whole-wheat roll and a salad of sorts consisting of diced ham, celery and carrots. Dessert was an orange gelatin with pieces of fresh watermelon.

The carrots were overcooked, but the broccoli and fish were actually decent. I didn’t touch the noodles because they were a little too dried-out on top. The salad and dessert were ‘eh,’ but the roll was warm and moist.

IMG_5898

Dinner: This meal was my personal favorite! The main course was a little hunk of steak topped with oatmeal (!), a roasted tomato sprinkled with herb bread crumbs, a few asparagus spears and two squares of squash. Sides included another whole-wheat roll, a celery salad with shredded carrots in a light vinaigrette and fresh grapefruit and guava. Dessert consisted of three oatmeal raisin cookies.

I started with the celery salad, which was cool and crisp. Next, I moved onto the roasted tomato, asparagus and squash. All three were surprisingly well-prepared—the asparagus still had a nice snap to them, while the tomatoes and squash were solid. The steak looked a bit gray, so I scraped off the oatmeal and left the meat alone. The fruit was tasty; the guava was especially sweet. Dessert was bomb. Seriously. Lots of raisins and an unknown “crunch” factor that further added to the cookies’ appeal.

IMG_5902

Breakfast: The main course was not breakfast-y at all—turkey meatballs and edamame in a tomato sauce served with noodles. A croissant, banana muffin and “fish cake” with a cherry tomato and slices of red and yellow peppers were served on the side.

I started off with the croissant because I wanted to eat it while it was still hot. It was flaky, buttery and really good! How’d they do that? The banana muffin was cold, but retained its moistness and tasted like classic banana bread. The turkey meatballs were decent, as were the edamame, but I once again steered clear of the noodles. I also didn’t touch the fish cake. Ick. The pepper slices and tomatoes were only okay, but I ate them because they are a good source of fiber. And that’s what I asked for.

27 Responses to “EVA Airlines”


  1. 2 ACGT June 8, 2009 at 12:40 am

    Eva airlines charges $7 for every pound above the limit of 15 lb for a carryon. Most well mad carryon bag already weighs around 7 lb. Fly JAL or Singapore airlines, you can enjoy better quality food without the headache and expenses.

  2. 3 google April 14, 2013 at 6:10 pm

    My partner and I stumbled over here coming from a different web address and thought I
    might as well check things out. I like what I see so i am just following you.

    Look forward to looking at your web page yet again.

  3. 4 горящие туры отдых горящие путевки туры в египет туры в турцию туры April 23, 2013 at 7:03 pm

    It’s an remarkable post designed for all the online viewers; they will get advantage from it I am sure.

  4. 5 http://www.msaudcolumbia.org/ May 15, 2013 at 3:40 pm

    Wow! Finally I got a webpage from where I can actually get valuable data concerning my study and knowledge.

  5. 6 video genesis reviews June 26, 2013 at 6:47 am

    Its like you learn my mind! You appear to know so much
    about this, such as you wrote the e book in it or something.

    I feel that you just could do with some % to drive
    the message house a bit, but instead of that, that is wonderful blog.
    An excellent read. I will definitely be back.

  6. 7 новий каталог ейвон онлайн June 26, 2013 at 5:11 pm

    What’s up i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anyplace, when i read this article i thought i could also create comment due to this brilliant paragraph.

  7. 8 homepage July 14, 2013 at 4:42 pm

    I intended to put you that tiny word just to say thanks a lot again just for
    the unique tips you’ve featured in this case. This is so wonderfully open-handed of you to give publicly precisely what numerous people would’ve sold as an ebook to help with
    making some cash for themselves, most notably now that you could
    have done it if you desired. The secrets as well acted like the great way to
    realize that some people have the same keenness much like my own to know lots more in respect of this
    problem. I’m certain there are numerous more pleasant times ahead for folks who read your site.

  8. 9 video genesis July 15, 2013 at 10:00 am

    Thanks to my father who shared with me about this web site, this web site is in fact remarkable.

  9. 10 people finder by address only July 15, 2013 at 11:58 pm

    If you are going for most excellent contents like myself, only go to see this web site
    daily for the reason that it offers quality contents, thanks

  10. 11 adres.pl August 23, 2013 at 12:08 am

    Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to assert that I get actually enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Anyway I will be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you
    access consistently fast.

  11. 12 pet insurance for birds September 21, 2013 at 11:28 am

    Some solutions that are used to consider treatment of animals can be quite pricey.
    As the sickness progresses, Fluffy may possibly develop despair,
    excessive vomiting, and turn out to be dehydrated.
    There are three major leads to of allergy symptoms in
    pet dogs.

  12. 13 viewdocsonline.com September 25, 2013 at 10:35 pm

    you’re in point of fact a excellent webmaster. The site loading pace is incredible.

    It kind of feels that you’re doing any unique trick. Moreover, The contents are masterpiece.
    you’ve performed a wonderful job on this matter!

  13. 14 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Au_wbIDU9Ac November 21, 2013 at 7:38 am

    Good way of describing, and pleasant article to take data about my presentation subject
    matter, which i am going to present in college.

  14. 15 perfect gift for her December 6, 2013 at 5:50 am

    I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here.
    The sketch is tasteful, your authored subject matter stylish.
    nonetheless, you command get got an impatience
    over that you wish be delivering the following.
    unwell unquestionably come further formerly again since exactly the same nearly a lot
    often inside case you shield this increase.

  15. 16 http://edex.adobe.com/member/75fb46 December 22, 2013 at 10:35 am

    Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a
    really well written article. I will be sure to bookmark
    it and come back to read more of your useful info.
    Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly return.

  16. 17 Shaunte April 5, 2014 at 8:29 am

    Appreciation to my father who stated to me concerning this web
    site, this blog is really remarkable.

  17. 18 alkomatyy.pl April 17, 2014 at 2:50 pm

    It’s fantastic that you are getting thoughts from this piece of writing
    as well as from our argument made here.

  18. 19 Railway May 1, 2014 at 12:26 pm

    Hi! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on.
    You have done a wonderful job!

  19. 20 foods with high fiber May 22, 2014 at 10:31 pm

    What’s up to all, the contents present at this web
    site are in fact remarkable for people knowledge, well, keep up the nice work fellows.

  20. 21 Cat Breeds List July 6, 2014 at 10:04 am

    Ahaa, its fastidious dialogue regarding this artjcle here at this website, I have read
    all that, so at this time me also commenting at this place.

  21. 22 Dragon City July 10, 2014 at 4:41 am

    Nice post. I learn something totally new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon on a daily basis.
    It’s always exciting to read through articles from other authors and use a little something from their
    web sites.

  22. 23 battle command hack July 23, 2014 at 10:11 pm

    Thanks to my father who told me concerning this website, this webpage is genuinely amazing.

  23. 24 קידום אתרים October 1, 2014 at 4:10 pm

    I don’t even know how I ended up here, however I believed this submit used to be good.
    I don’t understand who you’re however definitely you are going to a well-known blogger if you are not already.
    Cheers!

  24. 25 Jacquie October 31, 2016 at 4:46 am

    Youu гeally make іt seem so easy աith ʏօur presentation Ƅut ӏ find this atter tߋ be really something whіch I thіnk I
    would neveг understand. It ѕeems too complicated ɑnd extremely broad
    fօr me. I am looking forward fоr your next post, I will trry tо gᥱt thе
    hang of it!


  1. 1 EVA high fiber meals are palatable plane fare | Look What I Cooked Trackback on December 29, 2007 at 9:06 am
  2. 2 dog trainer online Trackback on July 18, 2015 at 9:18 am

Leave a Reply

