Scenes: The Art of Making Bánh Tét

The Astronomer and I woke up super-duper early this morning to witness a very special tradition—the making of Bánh Tét. With the Lunar New Year days away, my grandma’s sister (Ba Sau) and her two daughters-in-law gathered for their annual ritual of making this holiday specialty.

For the full post click here:

http://gastronomyblog.com/2008/02/04/scenes-the-art-of-making-banh-tet/

15 Responses to “Scenes: The Art of Making Bánh Tét”


  1. 1 Neneh February 5, 2008 at 3:25 am

    That’s funny that you’ve written about this because my mother came to visit me this weekend and brought some banh tet. I was teasing her that I might have better when I arrive in Vietnam. She was telling us that when she was in Vietnam they used bamboo to tie the banh! Where’s the dua mon?

  2. 2 Wandering Chopsticks February 5, 2008 at 5:58 am

    I thought the twine might have been the other edge of banana leaves but I can’t tell by the photos.

    Mmm. I’m anticipating the banh tet I’ll be getting in a few days from my relatives. Yay!

  3. 3 Wandering Chopsticks February 5, 2008 at 6:00 am

    Ha! Just as I finished typing in my comment, my aunt knocked on my door with banh tet and other goodies! 😛

  4. 4 Gastronomer February 5, 2008 at 9:35 pm

    Neneh – no worries, I had some homemade dua mon with my banh tet! try to get your hands on some homemade banh tet in Vietnam, my great aunt says its way better than the stuff sold in stores. Homemade dua mon is a bonus!

    Wandering Chopsticks – I hope your aunt brought some candied coconut and ginger and mut tom along with the banh tet ;-)! And I think you’re right about the “twine.”

  5. 5 Wandering Chopsticks February 6, 2008 at 3:43 am

    Cathy,
    It was homemade dua mon, sesame candy, and headcheese with the crunchy ears. Yay! I’ve actually been craving the headcheese for ages.

  6. 6 Yen February 9, 2008 at 12:02 am

    Cathy, I saw your brief commentary on SeriousEats – I’m so jealous you’re in Vietnam witnessing the making of banh tet! The photos look too delicious. My mom and I just made some banh chung:
    http://vietclub.blogspot.com/2008/02/making-bnh-chng.html
    -y

  7. 7 Gastronomer February 9, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    Yen! Super post on banh chung, your mom is a champ! I wish my mom made the stuff, but sadly, she is a purchaser.

  8. 8 blondee47 February 13, 2008 at 5:36 am

    i just found this site via chubby hubby and i see that wandering chopsticks comes by so i know this site is going to be great. wandering has given me many a great recipe….this is fascinating to see and i recently saw an episode of this on tv.

  9. 9 Gastronomer February 13, 2008 at 2:29 pm

    Hello Blondee, thanks for swinging by. Wandering Chopsticks has impeccable taste 😉

  10. 10 snakemonkey February 14, 2008 at 12:27 am

    Thanks so much for your post on this great Tet’s tradition. My mom used to do this every year, now my sister does. Btw, I bet you will look great in pink pajamas 🙂

  11. 11 Gastronomer February 14, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    Snake monkey – yay for your sister keeping the tradition alive :-).

  12. 12 mouse click the next page March 11, 2013 at 5:41 am

    One important thing is that when you are searching for a education loan you may find that you’ll want a cosigner. There are many conditions where this is true because you will find that you do not employ a past credit ranking so the financial institution will require that you’ve
    someone cosign the financing for you. Thanks for your post.

  13. 13 seggfej August 30, 2014 at 4:04 am

    Spot on with this write-up, I really feel this site needs a great deal more attention. I’ll probably be returning to
    read more, thanks for the information!

  14. 14 massage lyon April 16, 2017 at 7:06 pm

    de Talleyrand; madame de Staul, qui etait
    la principale cause de sa rentree en France, avait
    de frequentes relations avec lui, comme je l’ai deja dit,
    et a mesure que les evenements devenaient plus importants et plus intenses,
    ces memes relations devenaient plus intimes entre madame
    de Staul, M. http://www.sophiechassat.com

  15. 15 photography February 27, 2019 at 11:39 am

    Hi, its pleasant post concerning media print, we all know media
    is a fantastic source of data.


Leave a comment